Meet the Team

About Sandfield Primary School

Guildford was established as a small town by Saxon settlers shortly after Roman authority had been removed from Britain. The town was the location of the Royal Mint from 978 until part-way through the reign of William the Conqueror.

Guildford Castle is of Norman design, and its situation overlooks the pass through the hills taken by the Pilgrims’ Way, and also once overlooked the ancient ford across the Wey.

The school is based in the heart of Guildford town centre and families travel from far and near to attend Sandfield.  The school was built in 1901 and was originally a boys school connected to the Nursery in York Road by a bridge.   The school later became Sandfield Infant School and Sandfield Girls School, when at aged 11 pupils moved on to Stoke C of E Secondary Modern in Markenfield Road, now houses and flats.

HEADTEACHER Mrs Kate Collins (Designated Safeguarding Lead & Governor))
Deputy Headteacher & KS1 Phase Leader Miss Claire McIllroy (Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead & Staff Governor)
KS2 Phase Leader Mr Simon Godber
Inclusion Team
SENDCo Mrs Laura Kennedy
Home School Link Worker Mrs Lucy Lidstrom (Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead)
PPA Cover Mrs Kate Collins (Child Protection, Assessment and Trips & Visits Lead)
Early Years                      Mrs Suney Phillpot (Personal, Social, Health & Relationships, British Values and Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural Lead)
Year 1 Teacher Mrs Nelly Payne (Science Lead)
Year 2 Teacher Miss Claire McIllroy (Looked After Children, English, PTA, Parents & Communication, SCITT Lead )
Year 2 Teacher Mrs Helen Holloway (PE & Sports Lead)
Year 3 Teacher Mr Simon Godber (Mathematics, Computing and Junior Leadership Team Lead)
Year 4 Teacher Mrs Louise Dorman (Religious Education, English as an Additional Language and Modern Foreign Languages Lead)
Year 5 Teacher Mrs Justine Grant (Geography, History and Eco Team Lead)
Year 6 Teacher Mrs Sarah Howard (Art, Design & Technology Lead)
SCITT Miss Holly Wells
Teaching Assistants
KS1 Mrs Fiona Campbell-Bell
Ms Christina Kelly
Ms Lisa Wilde
KS2 Mrs Laura Di Marco
Ms Christina Kelly
Mrs Kate Oliver
Mrs Joanne Davey (Music Lead)
Administration Staff
Finance Manager Miss Becky Hart
PA to the SLT & Assistant School Business Manager Mrs Lindsey Donnithorne
Assistant School Business Manager Mrs Helen Elliott
Administration & Finance Assistant Mrs Thabie Mabindha
Learning Support Assistants Mrs Jennie March
Mrs Laura Parker
Mrs Nedeesha Perera
Mrs Elwira Piwonska
Mrs Jean Sherwin
Mr Gary Tozer
Midday Supervisor  Ms Bukurie Mehana
 Forest Schools Mr Lee Davis
Premises Staff
Premises Manager  Mr Tom Carroll
Caretaker Mr Neil Osmand
Mr Nigel Notley
Catering Team
Head Cook Ms Sofia Akinuwi
Catering Assistants Mrs Sadanah Sadanah
Mrs Karolina Staron

Organisational Structure

Staffing Overview 2022-2023 v2